tips on replacing left signal

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2009, 04:02 PM
1st Gear Member
Default tips on replacing left signal

I'm still steaming. Getting ready for a ride tomorrow I was able to get my bike up on a stand. After oiling my chain and tightening stuff up I tried to get the bike off the stand. One thing led to another and in the end the bike ended up on its left side with the rear left signal completely smashed. It looks like everything is bent out of shape.

Like I said, I'm still hot right now before I go back out and take a look at my next step. Are there any tips on how to take this thing off, there seems to be a big bolt all the way through.

Complete newb here...thanks

Last edited by Trevi; 05-16-2009 at 04:05 PM. Reason: forgot word
Old 05-16-2009, 04:28 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member

Dang, that sucks! Is it mounted to the rack like on the 06 bike? If so it probably bent the tab, and from my experience the tab will only take a couple of bends before it snaps off. When I cleaned up the back end of the bike and installed the smaller lights I bent the tabs in on purpose, then later I decided to put the stock lights back on because they are 5 times brighter than the smaller ones and when I tried to bend the tabs back I could feel them giving out. I took it to a shop and had them re-weld. Here is the back of my bike as it is currently. Yes I have 8 blinkers now. But hey it can only help right? Follow the wires back, unplug them from under the seat, and think about buying two of the same lights that are available in a bike shop with round lenses and keep the odd one you will have left over as an emergence replacement.

Here you can see the difference between the small ones I mounted on the fender and the stock ones that I put back on.
Name:  P2014334.jpg
Views: 34
Size:  86.3 KB

Same thing on the front.
Name:  P2014323.jpg
Views: 32
Size:  70.4 KB