Not so Newby

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2011, 04:46 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Not so Newby

Hello all. I've been riding motorcycles for almost 50 years, most of it off-road including desert racing in the Mojave in the 70s and 80s. I now live in Southwest Washington state and have been building and riding trails in the mountains and deserts of Oregon and Washington. For two reasons I decided to give up pure dirt bike riding and try dual-sport; 1) Loss of trails due to logging of my local riding area and environmentalist victories, and 2) approaching my 70th birthday in June I find I just don't have quite what it takes to enjoy riding gnarly single track as much as I used to.

Last November I found a 2009 KLX 250s on Craigslist that was too good to pass up. Besides selling for way less than list price, it had a full Muzzy system, skid plate, hand guards, radiator guards, luggage rack and new Pirelli tires (along with the originals), and only 644 miles. Pristine with no dings. First thing I did was lower it an inch due to my 5 ft 5 in stumpy height. The seat is about 2 inches lower than my dirt bike was and really helps.

I live on the western edge of the Gifford Pinchot national forest and close to the Yacolt Burn state forest. There are miles and miles of street-legal-only forest roads that are within a short road ride from my house, but until today they were mostly under snow. We have had a short warm, dry spell that got me out for the first time on the KDX today. I did 115 miles, and I had a BLAST. The bike is a bit heavier than my dirt bike, but the suspension is really good, at least for the rocky, rutted, potholed roads I was riding and my 145 lb weight. I sure do love that electric start and filling up with regular gas by driving up to the pumps at a station along the way. I really look forward to the snow free months in the mountains and a whole new world to explore.

Old 01-28-2011, 11:48 AM
1st Gear Member