Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. just about anything goes.

Harbor Freight Tools

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2009, 03:38 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Harbor Freight Tools

So it's no secret that Harbor Feight tools are cheap. Very very cheap. Walking into one of their stores is like going into a candy store though. Every tool imaginable, all for a price that you can do that day! But are they worth the money? What is your experience with Harbor Freight? Is there a reason why they're so cheap? Do you, as they say, get what you pay for?

Also, what kind of tools are you partial to? You a Craftsman man? Or does Black and Decker do the job? What are you into?

Old 08-22-2009, 04:17 AM
Admin
1st Gear Member

Craftsman might be ok for hand tools, but for serious power tools look elsewhere, such as Milwakee, DeWalt, and so on. Similarly Black and Decker. My father was an electrician by trade and he burned up my $30 Black and Decker drill in about 5 minutes by simply drilling soft pine 2x6's with a 5/8 spade bit while we running romex. After asking me why do I buy that junk, he gave me a $120 Milwakee drill to replace it. Thanks dad! That was over 20 years ago and that Milwakee drill is still running strong and has seen some pretty hard use. Lesson learned. I guess the cheap stuff is OK for the weekender if you baby it, but it won't hold up for real work or if it sees daily use or even weekly use. The lesson I learned over 20 years ago after seeing that cheap drill go up in smoke so easily was to invest in quality tools, otherwise you will be buying them again. And again. And the cheap tools will ultimately be more expensive in the long run.

I have no experience with Harbor Freight, though, but a friend of mine loves that place.

Old 08-22-2009, 04:12 PM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

yes, forget anything electrical in the craftsman lineup. Junk