04 ZXR won't start. Should be so simple!

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2021, 04:23 PM
Default 04 ZXR won't start. Should be so simple!

Hello and thanks for taking a minute to possibly lend a hand!

The story is simple. Rode it to school a year ago, went to leave and wouldn't start. Nothing was making any noises or acting funny up to that point. It will click as if the starter is trying, but nothing else.

Here is why I say it should be simple. What I'm really hoping is that you can help me identify what this particular sound was. When you put the key in and turn to accessory you would ALWAYS hear the clicking sort of grind sound and your odometer went up and down and you would also hear a mechanical whirring. A sound that specifically sounded like a vale, a pump, *something* was happening. That sounds is not there anymore! I'm not a motorcycle doctor but my bike no longer turns over ever since that sound ceased to exist. I think it's fair to say this is where I need to start looking, only I don't know what that sound was!

So far I've poked around with a meter and if I recall correctly I was able clear all fuses, and I believe I was able to find the fuel pump and meter that as well which was good. If I take the take off and hook it up I can get the pump in there to send fuel.

If we have any ideas as to what that second sound I typically hear controls or interfaces with I'd be happy to explore them. I don't think there is much sense tearing too far into it until I can at least get whatever that function was back.

Thanks again! Happy riding!

Old 03-14-2021, 03:36 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

Welcome to KF

Check your battery. I should say to replace your 2004 battery.

Old 03-14-2021, 06:52 PM

Hello and thanks!

I should amend this post.