Seeking KLX250 feedback from owners

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2018, 01:05 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Seeking KLX250 feedback from owners

Hi all! Looking to buy a dual sport bike next spring after being without a bike for the past 10 years. Really like the KLX250.

Just looking to hear some feedback from real owners on what's great with this bike, what sucks, what mods are best and most effective, and how it compares to other bikes you have owned in the past.

For reference, I've been riding for 22 years off and on, and have ridden mostly smaller cc bikes, 250cc or smaller. KE100, XR250L, PE250, etc. I'm used to bikes that aren't super fast or have fancy suspension.

Will be riding mostly dirt roads, fire roads, two lane trails, and paved roads. Not much serious off road stuff or sand. I'm 5'11" and 215lbs with 32" inseam.

I sat on a new KLX250 at the dealer and loved it. Just felt right for me. Sits nice, not too high not too low, looks great with the lime green, doesn't feel too heavy, etc. I was also considering a Suzuki DRZ400 but it feels much bigger and heavier.

I will be looking for a used low mileage bike as new is out of my budget. My budget is $2-3k. I see lots of nice ones for sale in my area for $2500 with low miles, around 2-4K miles.

Any feedback on performance, ride, maintenance, suspension, problems or issues, or what to look out for on a used bike would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Old 09-04-2018, 01:13 PM
1st Gear Member

I went to a KLX250 after riding my brother's 250. I was riding a 650, but big and top heavy. I like the lightness. The suspension is adjustable and also can be revalved and resprung to suit the rider, good stuff. There are known fixes for carb jetting and I do a cam chain tensioner to replace the failed ones, which is pretty common. There is a chance the tensioner may already be on a used bike. If the cam drive is noisy use it to cut down your purchase price, then replace the tensioner. That usually fixes that.