2007 KLX250 Wiring Damage

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2016, 01:22 PM
1st Gear Member
Exclamation 2007 KLX250 Wiring Damage

Hey everyone, I recently traded a 1989 KTM 350 for a 2007 KLX 250 with 1500 miles on it. The catch is it doesn't run right now. The gentleman I got it from told me that his 16 year old son was riding two-up and came down hard on it driving the wheel in the inner fender skirt and shredding the wiring. He told me that he did do some attempts at re-wiring it which I quickly discovered he probably had no business re-wiring anything lol. I am an electronics technician on missile systems in the Army so I thoroughly understand electronical theory and schematics. But what I need help with is the starter relay on this bike. For starters, I am certain he wired the + to the - side of the relay because as soon as I put my battery charger on the battery is sparked like crazy. So I reversed his wiring and resolved that. The main problem I am having is there are three wires going to the relay minus the -/+ from the battery. There is a black wire, black and yellow and a white wire. I am not confident he has these wires in the right spot and the wiring diagram doesn't specify where the wires go. I did manage to apply power to one of the wires via a spare battery and the bike turned over and tried to start but not before the wiring loom started smoking like crazy. Then I noticed that the wires leading up to the relay are melted and bare and may have been touching when I tried to start it. The majority of the wires that were shredded are to the rear lights so I am not concerned with that, that's easy.

What I am hoping is someone can send me a pic of their starter relay from a similar year KLX250 so I can verify I have the right relay on the bike (replacement looks nothing like the one on the bike) and which points the wires hook up to.