General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Clicking that speeds up with back tire only when in gear HELP

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2006, 08:28 AM
Default Clicking that speeds up with back tire only when in gear HELP

I am very new to the bike scene, so bare with me when you find out how little i actually know. i recently purchased a 2002 ZRX-750-s. it ran fine, just the stator was shot from the prevous owner dropping it, numerous times, usually into another car, and then the bike getting hit (all of whih he confessed to me AFTER i complained about the noise) anyway, to make it short; i didnt notice the noise until after i installed the new stator, however, i am unsure if the noise happened immediately when i ichanged it, or sometime after as i had my iPod in for a few rides.

heres what gets me (i am a grease monkey at heart and tried to losely apply my hot rod skills to troubleshoot) the clicking only happens when the bike is in gear, and traveling over roughly 4 mph although it could just be so quiet at that point, i cant hear it. if, at any time, you apply the clutch while riding and allow the bike to coast, the clicking goes away immediatley. it happens in all gears, and seems to speed up with the motor HOWEVER, it does not speed up and then slow down once you shift, so it sounds like it speeds up with the sprocket.

to change the stator, i had to remove the stator cover, the shifter and the shifter cover (to have access to route wires) and the plate, i know im an idiot, that overs the left side of the motor or transfer case between the stator and the shifter. i also removed the gas tak to pull the battery out and put a new one back in.

i really would like to get this fixed among other things on my bike. i have all the time in the world just no money (starving college student) someone, please help me :-(

Old 07-05-2006, 08:35 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member