General Motorcycle Discussion Have some questions or information about riding that is not tech? Here you go!

My first bike

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2014, 02:31 AM
Default My first bike

Hey there,

I'm new to the motorcycle world. I read a book about this Israeli girl (24 years old) who travelled around Australia on a motorbike, and it made me want to do the same. So I learned how to ride motorcycle and got my license back in Israel.

Now I arrived in Sydney a week ago and I'm researching.
I'm looking for advice, as I never owned a bike or gear. Just got my license a couple of weeks ago. by the way, I'm restricted to 33 horse powers and I got my international license.

I aim to buy a used Kawasaki KLX250 from a private seller. It will be my first bike.
I would ask the seller for inspection (which I'll pay for, obviously) pre-purchase.

Now, I have a few questions. Please keep in mind that I'm really new to everything, so if you can, please make sure to simplify as much as you can.

Here we go:

1) My budget for the bike is up to 3,000$ AUD, and another 800$ AUD for the safety gear. Do you think this is a reasonable budget?

2) I plan to inspect the motorbike before I purchase it. Do you think I should do the pre-purchase check on a NRMA service center, or should I just get it to a local repair shop?

How much is a reasonable cost for this check?

3) I heard that even I'll get stuck in the middle of no-where, I could always spend a day/day and a half under the shade of my bike, waiting for a passerby to rescue me and my bike, and get me to the nearest repair shop. What do you think about that?
Would you recommend me to get a road assistance insurance for cases of breakdown?
If you do recommend something like that, what would it be?

4) What kind of modifications, upgrades and add-ons should I consider?