Believed carb problem. want opinions

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 04:19 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Believed carb problem. want opinions

Well, I'll start at the beginning. I've got a 99 zx-6r, first of all. I believe some debris is blocking my float valve open or possible my float is cracked on one of my carbs. I'm not sure yet. I have the manual but was unwilling to go straight for the carbs mostly because I've never done any work on bikes before so I started looking electrical first. Junction box checked out, voltage regulator checked out, blah blah blah. Here's the thing. It's flooding. But, when I clear the flood by opening the throttle and keeping the petcock closed while cranking it runs great on the gas in the carb. As soon as I turn the gas on it floods. Immediately. Terribly. It spits a ton of gas out the intake as well and I had to change the oil once already because it was full of gas. This all started happening after I hit some railroad tracks. One other thing. I don't know how related this is, but it was just so weird to me, which is why I was thinking junction box/voltage regulator: My headlight doesn't come on until I actually get the bike started. The relay doesn't click on until I actually start the bike. And I don't remember if that was how it was before. The tail lights come on and the gauge cluster, but the headlight doesn't. I've been over the wiring so many times and all I can see is that either there isn't enough voltage coming from the regulator or it's not meant to turn on until the bike actually is running... Which is weird because it stays on when the bike is off as long as I don't turn off the key. I can manually flip the relay over by putting 12 volts to the lead going into the relay and the headlight will come on... I've tried so hard to remember if that is how it was before or not.. That may not even be an issue.. I don't know. Anyways, help me. I'm bummed as hell because it's the middle of riding season and I've not been out!