Good deal?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2006, 05:23 PM
Default Good deal?

Hi everyone, I'm new to KF and biking altogether. I found an offer for a 1993 Ninja EX500 from a guy that lives about an hour away from me. Heres a link to it:

http://richmond.craigslist.org/mcy/211620913.html

I'm getting it all for $1000, including a helmet and gloves.

I'm really low on money right now, so 1k is all I can afford.

Is this a good deal?

Old 10-01-2006, 08:10 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Good deal?

It looks nice, but I can almost guarantee you by his description that it's been down once or twice before. I would check it out carefully, make sure it sounds healthy, take it for a ride etc. If the paint job he said he did looks cheap and shoty, try to make him go lower.

good luck! Let us know what you do, and welcome to KF!

Old 10-01-2006, 08:54 PM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member

KBB.com lists a retail price for that year/model as $1730, but that's for a bike in non-crashed condition.
It looks promising whenever it's stock and hasn't been abused by some squid, (which is usually not a problem with these bikes, because few squids are secure enough to buy these bikes in the first place.) As long as the guy you're buying it from doesn't have a bunch of tattoos and facial piercings, and as long as you can take it for a test-ride, that's not a bad price.
When you take it for a test ride, lightly take your hands off the bars (while riding on a straight road with no traffic) at 40+ MPH. Keep your hands directly over the bars in case they pull to one side or start to wobble. As long as the bike continues straight with no wobbling or turning, it should still be tracking true.
Replacement mirrors don't cost much, but you might be able to get the seller to deduct that from the sale price.
Good luck and let us know how it goes!
-CCinC

Old 10-02-2006, 02:08 AM