New Member Area New to KF? Stop in tell us about you.

any and all suggestions would be good

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2005, 05:57 AM
Default any and all suggestions would be good

i am new to the world of bikes, and i am looking to get started, so first i need to learn all the info i'll need to pass my test, any tips on were to get good study material? i tried to sign up for classes but there booked for months. which is ok because it will only give me more time to save for a better bike.

ok so if i pass my test i'll need a bike any suggestions on a bike for a guy thats is 5, 10 and 185lbs. with no riding experiance? the one thing that is important to me is speed, i need the fastest bike that a beginner could learn on?

any help would be good!

Old 09-14-2005, 06:38 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: any and all suggestions would be good

Welcome bro, You are on track so far with taking the MSF course. As for study material, get the guide from your local DMV. The written test is mainly commonsense but there are a few tricky questions that are there to through you off. I personally have never not passed a written driving test from 16 on.

For a bike if you want the fastest for a beginner go with a 600cc bike. Its got just as much power as a liter bike off the line and into the midrange of the power band. The 636 Kaw is and the R6 Yamaha are my favorite.

I understand the need for speed more than anyone, I love to go fast and the faster the better, but start out slow and gain some experience before hitting it hard. Once you get your first bike you will understand the actual power it has, especially if you go the 600cc way. Other good starters are 250, 500 there are lots but you asked for the fastest.

Remember to save for some gear and get the pants too not just a jacket hopefully. You should budget about 800.00 -1200.00 at least for gear. I roll with about 1800.00 worth of gear. It will save your ***.

Ride safe and welcome to the two wheel life. It Rocks!