Riding Skills

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2012, 07:03 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Riding Skills

I have searched without a lot of success so I hope someone can help. I have trail ridden a Suzuki DR200 in the recent past and just picked up an '07 KLX. I am a self taught rider which is another way of saying I don't really know what the helll I'm doing, and I don't have the luxury of riding with anyone who does know. Any suggestions on how to improve my riding skills without some hands on help? Thanks!!

Old 04-02-2012, 07:15 PM
1st Gear Member

I rode street bikes for a long time when I was younger, so I feel comfortable on the blacktop. But I need to do some learning either by suggestions from others or trial-and-error. I took my bike out yesterday for an extended amount of time in a variety of dirt conditions. The biggest area of improvement I need to make is in knowing how much gas to give it in mud and tough conditions. Yesterday I found myself in about a foot of mud and found myself having a hard time releasing the clutch and giving it enough gas to get out. I kept stalling. Finally I just opened it up full throttle and got out.

I'd like to learn more about body position during turns in the dirt and going up/down hills. I went up one good one yesterday but didn't go back down. A lot of it is getting comfortable with the bike in these conditions. The more comfortable I get the more willing I will be to push it and try new things.

Does anyone tape their wrist before doing aggressive riding? I twisted my left wrist after the handlebars jerked away from me yesterday.

Last edited by Brieninsac; 04-02-2012 at 07:23 PM.
Old 04-02-2012, 07:25 PM
1st Gear Member

It would really be helpful if you guys with a lot of experience could maybe rattle off some tips that you have learned, e.g. body position during hill climbs, deep sandy ruts, etc. Thanks again!

Old 04-02-2012, 07:28 PM
1st Gear Member

X2. .

Old 04-02-2012, 07:34 PM
1st Gear Member