Purchase Advice Needed on KLX vs KLR

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2009, 09:39 PM
Default Purchase Advice Needed on KLX vs KLR

I am looking at a 2007 KLX250S that has 0 miles and has been stored inside. The bike was a prize that was won but has never been ridden. Since the owner titled it the warranty has expired. My question is should I have any concerns as to buying this 2 year old bike with 0 miles and no warranty? Is it common to have a few issues that a warranty would usually cover? The price is $3,500.00.

The other bike I am looking at is a 2004 KLR 250 with 1,400 original miles in mint condition @ $2,100.00.

I am new to bikes (have ridden but never owned) and any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Old 07-19-2009, 09:45 PM
1st Gear Member

Go for the KLX good price great little bike, you will not regret it. If the bike has not been ran I would put a few drops of oil into the cylinder and crank it over to lube everything before starting the bike. I have had mine since March 2007 and have had Zero issues with it. I even purchaced 4 more years of warranty from kawi just in case. Buy a service maual and do your own repairs.

Ken

Old 07-19-2009, 10:02 PM
1st Gear Member
Default What do you want to do with the bike?

The KLX and the KLR are quite different. The KLX is much lighter and more dirt capable. It is a good around town commuter, but highway stretches get old fast. The KLR is much larger and heavier, which is not a problem if you are a good size guy. The KLR is also a good commuter and is at home on the highway for extended periods. It is a much more comfortable bike even with the stock seat. The KLR is at home on gravel roads and fire trails, but the KLX can handle dirt that the KLR can't. I'll take a KLX on single track but not a KLR.

I'd lean toward the KLR based on price.

Old 07-19-2009, 11:35 PM
1st Gear Member