A lurker finally registers!

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2006, 11:15 PM
Default A lurker finally registers!

Hello all from the Midwest!

I've been lurking in this forum for about 2-3 weeks now. I'm interested in getting a KLX 250S but will probably not make the purchase until this fall or next spring.

Why you ask? Well, I am the co-founder of Christian Brothers Motocross ministry. Currently, I race motocross and do church services and prayer services along with my teammates at our local MX tracks. We have built many relationships with fellow racers and their families and together we all try to emphasize the family aspect of the sport of motocross. My plan is to finish out this year racing and then "retire" from competition and focus more on the ministry aspect but continue to ride dirtbikes with my son.

I race a 2003 Honda CRF450R. Before that I was on a 2004 Honda CRF250R and before that I started my racing "career" on a 2002 Cannondale X440s. But I started riding motorcylces when I was 14 on a 1979 Kawasaki KE125. So, I've always had a soft spot for Kawi's.

My partner in ministry broke his leg racing earlier this year and since then my wife has requested that this be my last year of racing. I'm willing to oblige her because I'm not that fast or competitive and as long as I can still ride dirt bikes I'll be happy! By the way, I'm 40 years old and have only been racing motocross the last 5 years.

Anyway, as I started thinking about what I would replace my CRF with the KLX 250S has come to the top of the heap! I rode a friends KLX300 about 5 years ago and that it was a blast to ride! I like the idea of this 250S because of it's smaller size (more nimble in the woods and trails and occasional jaunt on a MX track) and because of some of it's motocross like qualities (USD forks and semi-adjustable suspension).