Lost my reserve tank

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2008, 09:04 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Lost my reserve tank

Had the fuel tank off of my '07 klx 250 to make some jetting changes. Since then I've never had to switch to "reserve" even though I am certain that I have run the main tank dry. I have checked my on-line service manual and it appears that all of the fuel lines are connected correctly. The jetting changes were done in an effort to richen things up after installation of full Muzzy and air box lid removal. That being said, I can't imagine my gas mileage
would have increased. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by rockabillyrider; 12-26-2008 at 10:54 PM.
Old 12-26-2008, 10:37 PM
1st Gear Member

I'm no expert but I changed out my stock tank for an Acerbis and the gaggle of 4 hoses coming from the stock tank vs. one hose from the Acerbis had me scratching my head for a minute.

You might have your primary and reserve hoses backwards.

Old 12-26-2008, 10:51 PM
1st Gear Member

According to the on-line manual, it seems that everything is correct. I'll be doing some suspension mods soon, so I'll give it a closer look. Thanks for you're input.

Old 12-27-2008, 03:31 AM
1st Gear Member

its one tank, it just picks from a different level in the tank, mine did get better for light trail riding and got worse for wide open throttle freeway- but if I'm in traffic- stop and go-it did get a little better.

really, the big change happened when I lowered the gearing.

Old 12-27-2008, 04:02 AM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by rockabillyrider
According to the on-line manual, it seems that everything is correct. I'll be doing some suspension mods soon, so I'll give it a closer look. Thanks for you're input.

I'd lay odds you have the lines swapped. I don't have my bike with me, but my manual shows the 'main' hose going to the elbow fitting on the petcock while reserve goes to the straight fitting.