Help jetting 8000+ elevation

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 11:04 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Help jetting 8000+ elevation

Ok folks so i recently bought a 2009 KLX 250sf from a dealership, and i am just about at my limit before i throw this thing off a cliff. It was used with 5 miles on the bike which makes me wonder. not under warranty of course. Here is my problem.

The low end of the RPM is HORRIBLE. It wants to bog out and die when i run a low rpm around 2-5k (flooding?). It seems to be running well enough if i stay at high rpms aside from a slight hiccup when running a steady cruising rpm of 6-8k. Sorry for the long story but i will try to be as detailed as i can and this is my first time working on a bike like this.

I am at 8000+ ft elevation and I have taken this bike to get jetted by a local kawasaki mechanic. We purchased a klx300 jet kit for it since that is what I'm seeing a lot of people do for power. The mechanic spent hours working on my bike to no avail and returned it to me with all the stock pieces back in it. Said he could not get it to idle with the jet kit and that he tried multiple variations of the provided needle and main jets. Also said the 124 main had a ton of black smoke coming out (making me think too rich).

So i took it home and personally tried a few settings with the needle from the jet kit and keeping the stock 35 pilot and 118 main. I felt it was running best on the lowest fuel clip setting (the one closest to the top). The bike will idle but easily floods when a slight crack of the throttle. With this setting i basically cannot run below 4-5k rpm because the bike will try to bog out and die as if it were flooding. I then have to open the throttle while starting to get it back to an idle. If i punch on the fuel to start i can get it above that rpm range and run through the gears seemingly well enough.