Heated Handgrips

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 02:43 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Heated Handgrips

OK....now that i've had these things sitting on my toolbox at work for 2 weeks i gotta get them on....
#1 is out of the way as i got a wiring schematic from one of you fellas here the other week.
#2 i'm a mechanic for a living so i have no problem tearing into it.
#3 what the hell can i tap into for power to make a nice clean install????
Of course #3 is the major question here.everything on the schematic lists it's power requirements and i see nothing viable to use for a keyed "ON" power source.Not to mention i'm going to have to fab a mount bracket for the power switch for the grips themselves.Now i could do the "last resort" and wire it from the battery itself but i really didn't want to do that as i just don't like doing things that way.
My gloves are plenty warm for my 14 mile ride to work in 30 degree weather but i want the warmers for Loooong rides when it is colder.I did foam fill my pro-tapers to help eliminate some of the "heat sink" effect of the aluminum bars for when i did get around to installing the heaters.
Any and all input would be appreciated here guys.also....how many watts is the alternator output on the little klx???? the heaters are i think 10/35 watts and i also need to consider that.....thank you all.

Old 12-26-2007, 03:09 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Heated Handgrips

Hey Truckman, I just hooked them up to the keyed power and it was done. I also made a bracket for the ones I installed on my wife's bike and the other 225 in the garage. Here is a picture. What brand did you get? Did it come with a variable setting turn switch? Check this out and let me know if it looks the same. Also I have some of that same material left, its from an access panel to a computer desk. It had the perfect bend in it. Let me know what ya think.

Name:  100_5930.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  79.9 KB

Name:  100_5928.jpg
Views: 24