Flat Tire??????

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2006, 10:25 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Flat Tire??????

I have just 187 miles on the new KLX and my front tire already went FLAT!!!!
I was riding home from a small trail day and I feel real squishy in the front, Look down and I see it--Flat!!!!

I can't believe I got a flat and I wasn't even really riding it heavy at all--I was alone!!!

So now I'm gonna go buy a new PUMP--old one broke--and pump it up to see if maybe I broke the beed or something...
but that wouldn't matter cuz it's a tube right????
Well I'm brand new to this and I gotta say how suprised I am to get a flat from really doing nothing!!!!
It's not completely FLAT, but I can push the tire in and I hear the sound like a tank going down the street!!!

This SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!

Thank God I wasn't in the middle of nowhere when this happened......................

Old 12-07-2006, 11:08 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Flat Tire??????

That is weird, I have done a lot of trails, gravel roads and some roads that would give a 4X4 a run for its money, plus a lot of street riding and I still have the original front tire with 3900 miles on it. Sounds like you might have a bum valve or were low to begin with. Let us know what you find out.

Old 12-07-2006, 11:56 PM
1st Gear Member

I have gotten two flats on the front tire. both times were my fault as I was running the air pressure two low and both times the valve ripped out. I got to put a bead lock on the tire so that doesn't happen any more.

Old 12-08-2006, 02:07 AM
1st Gear Member

Yeah------it's crazy to have a flat already for really not have rode it much at all!!!!!!

I'm thinking of replacing the tire and rim just to be sure!! Would hate to be stuck some-where far...........

What is an emergency tire change technique in the woods???

What would I need and could someone explain the way to do this please.....................