Exhaust suggestions / gen question on mods

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2009, 12:12 PM
1st Gear Member
Smile Exhaust suggestions / gen question on mods

Hi, newbie here. Been searching for some answers to a few questions i havent found and hoping someone can help. I just picked up a 2007 KLX 250S, did the msf, licensed, the whole deal. love it! curious of a few things as I start playing with my new toy:

1. Will any of typical mods run risk of me not passing annual inspection for some reason that anyone is aware? I live in VA, and we have no emissions testing. I am planning on doing the free mods now and hope to do a big bore kit, new exhaust and possibly new carb within the next year as i grow into it.

2. I am looking into exhaust change out. I was wondering if anyone can suggest a good close to stock quiet pipe if that is even possible. With the thought that I may do a big bore in the future, curious if that changes recommendations. Dont want to **** off the neighbors too bad, and if i go stealth on some local trails, dont want to attract attention to myself if I can. I looked at PlanetKLX and went over the exhaust info and read up on what i can. I am leaning on buying a 300 header and pipe that i can remove the plug from or going with the FSW header and pipe because of my concern for noise (showing <90 db supposedly on the FSW, with good increase according to their review). Does anyone run the FSW system that can comment? is the Stock 300 setup (header and exhaust) close to the same db level as the 250? with the plug removed is their much additional noise?

The other alternative is if any of the 250s exhausts have removable plugs on them. Mine appears to be welded, cant find if that is uniform across the board or not.

Thanks for your help!
Matt

Old 08-31-2009, 02:16 PM
1st Gear Member