big gun install 07 klx250s

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2008, 12:18 AM
1st Gear Member
Default big gun install 07 klx250s

Need some help here,

This may not be a tough question for the majority of you gear heads but I am a newbie when it comes to the motorcycle world. I have had my bike for about 6 months and have no complaints but got some X-mas money and thought "let's buy an exhaust." Anyway, on total trust form my local bike shop i went with the big gun (whole kit) for my bike. They assured me the installation would be easy for anyone that could work a wrench. So before i get started and find myself lost, does anyone have any advice or things to look out for? And is re-jetting the bike after installation neccessary? Please be gentle. Thanks Dacoontz (newbie).

Old 01-07-2008, 12:26 AM
IG
Default RE: big gun install 07 klx250s

I'll be first..........it will take you about 10 mins. Take the old system off, bolt up the header first but leave the header bolts a little loose. Then install the muffler.........after lining it all up with the header connection and the mounting bolts, go ahead and tighten it at the engine and then tighten the muffler bolts. Lastly install the clamp between the header and muffler. You're done. I'd recommend doing the jetting and installing an aftermarket air-filter. You'll love the BG, I had one on my '06. They flat-out kick **** and sound sweet. Do it now!!!

Old 01-07-2008, 12:27 AM
1st Gear Member

Re-jetting is a must.I would try a 128 main, n1tc needle at about the second notch, and theair fuel screw about 2-2.5 turns out. That'll prolly be an okay "jetting starting point" with that pipe. You can find all those part numbers in the common parts thread. Might as well get the kdx snorkel, loose the snorkel, or loose the airbox lid! Let that baby breathe!