5'9 with 31 inch inseam a little worried

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2020, 11:37 PM
Default 5'9 with 31 inch inseam a little worried

Hoping for some insight. Absolutely love the KLX250 and its styling. My worry is in the seat height as I'll be riding offroad 60% of the time. I'm 5'9 with a 31" inseam. To boot I'm brand new to the sport can handle a CRF125 with ease just a little intimidated with the transition to the KLX250 and its size difference. Any pointers tips suggestions greatly appreciated.

Old 06-19-2020, 02:29 AM
1st Gear Member

I have the same inseam and found riding a trials bike in competition to be a great help. I also had a couple of days with trials champ Ryan Young last year which was a great help. I strongly recommend getting a trials bike, get some training, and compete. I had zero confidence off-road, but now I have enough to say "I got this" much more often than I used to. Riding slow on a trials bike teaches balance, body positioning, suspension loading/unloading, and most importantly fine clutch, throttle, and brake control. I have a long ways to go and have a lot of fun. And the skills seem to carry over to my KLX and my street bike. The pix are from the Ryan Young training days: Ryan had me crossing obstacles I would never have had the guts to try without his coaching.

Last edited by snappster; 06-19-2020 at 02:31 AM.
Old 06-19-2020, 02:57 AM
1st Gear Member

Grew up riding offroad - established single tracks, race tracks, everything, in the thousands of acres that our house was in the middle of.. Many generations of kids grew up riding that area.

.Many of my bikes were too tall for me (back then).. I would have to slide off to the side to get one leg down on lots of my bikes. I have never broken a bone. If I can do this, and do it safely, you can.