19.9 Horsepower?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 08:52 PM
1st Gear Member
Angry 19.9 Horsepower?

Hey guys I am new to the klx250, I like the bike ok but after doing some mods I feel the little red machine should be producing more power than 19.9 horsepower. I got 298 miles on the bike and was fed up with the break in period recomended by the factory so I felt it was time to ride this bike like a man should and quit limping the thing along. I took it for a ride and was totally bummed out with the lack of power the bike had, "less power than my daughters crf 150!" This bike performed like a joke, the handling was good, comfortable to ride, cool display, suspension...ok, but the power SUCKS! I immediatley took it to a local engine performance shop and had him put a new headpipe,hmf can, dyno jet kit, removed airbox lid, and installed k/n with precharger. After all of this my bike put out a whoppin 19.9 horsepower on the dyno. Are you freaking kidding me??? I thought i would have see upper 20's with the work done. Is this normal or do I just have a lemon? I keep hearing how the jetting/pipe combo's turn this bike around but Im not feeling it...A little different yes, powerfull and hauls butt, FAR from it!

Old 09-22-2008, 08:57 PM
1st Gear Member

same deal with mine... dyno'd with pretty much the same mods at just over 19 hp.. if u want more either sell it or get a big bore/pumper upgrade.

Old 09-22-2008, 09:03 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by jsac
same deal with mine... dyno'd with pretty much the same mods at just over 19 hp.. if u want more either sell it or get a big bore/pumper upgrade.
Bummer! I guess after reading some of the posts on this forum I hoped for more power than I'm getting. The words haul ***, fast, quick powerfull should not be used in the same sentence as Klx250s.

Old 09-22-2008, 09:28 PM
1st Gear Member