07 klx250s carby/jet question

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2012, 01:10 AM
1st Gear Member
Default 07 klx250s carby/jet question

Hey guys. I just finished messing with the bike. Dropped about 5.6kgs of fat so far and decided to do some mods. I got myself a twin air filter, KDX200 snorkel, Q4 FMF slip on and a dial a jet to suit. Apart from no one in Australia hearing of the dial a jets im pretty stuffed. Im also new to dirt bikes and have no idea on how to set it right.

So i got all the new parts installed and turned the dial one notch richer. I then went for a ride. Apart from it being a struggle for it to stay running for its first start in a week or so, it ran good. Untill upon deacceloration i was getting alot of back firing. As well as when i tried to pin it whilst in the higher gear then i should have been, it found a flat spot then took off.

I believe the carby is stock and hasnt been touched. Also i had it out and went looking for the 2 holes in the slide but found none? With the information i have provided, do i need to lean it out more or richen it up?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Old 10-31-2012, 03:11 AM
1st Gear Member

Congrats on losing the fat!

There's at least one or two members here with dial-a-jet experience. I'm not one of them. Normally, with the mods you did, most of us tend to bump up the main jet to prevent lean running. That's where the dial-a-jet is supposed to work its magic, but I can't tell you anything about DAJ settings, or if you still need a larger main jet. Hopefully someone else can help.

Is your Aus carb needle adjustable? Ours here in the states are not and some of us get the Kaw N1TC or DynoJet adjustable needle. That may help with the flat spot.