Kawasaki Mule Discuss the multi purpose Mule within.

20 year old 2510 won't start

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2016, 06:44 PM
Default 20 year old 2510 won't start

Hi all,
I suddenly can't get my '95 mule 2510 to start. Since I'm new to to the forum, here's a little background on the mule: this was a fleet vehicle for a weed control company for about a decade, and has been used recreationally for the last ten years. For about eight of the last ten years, because the weed control company also uses airboats, the owner has exclusively used low lead 100 octane avgas in it. Although a little cold blooded and prone to dying when idling, it ran great until a couple weeks ago.

Now it won't start. It was running one night and the next morning it wouldn't fire at all. The owner thought it was out of fuel, and it basically was, so I refilled it with non ethanol 87. I'm leery of running avgas in engines that were meant to run unleaded, because it seems like it would make them run hot, so I convinced them to switch to non ethanol regular.

As far as diagnostics, the fuel pump is running and the lines running from the tank, thru the filter and pump, to the carb are all connected and appear to be without cracks. Compression appears to be good, but the plugs are dry, as if there's no fuel getting to the cylinders. Spark is good. I've tried spraying starting fluid into the carb and even that won't get it to fire. One thing I have noticed is the starter seems to be spinning the engine noticeably faster than when it was running regularly.