Kawasaki Jet Ski's One, Two & Three Passenger Jet Ski talk within here.

Wont start backfires and acts like it is out of time?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2005, 02:43 PM
Default Wont start backfires and acts like it is out of time?

I just bought a used 1993 750SS Jet ski. It will not start but backfires and acts like it is out of time? Could the flywheel key be sheared or would a bad coil or ignition module cause this?
Thanks for any info..

Old 07-30-2005, 07:38 PM
Default RE: Wont start backfires and acts like it is out of time?

Mine acted like that for a while; it was spark plugs. At least save yourself some money and try that first.

Old 08-01-2005, 05:16 AM

I tried the plugs first, no help. I just bought this jet ski so I do not know much about it. I have been a mechanic all of my life and I am not afraid to take it apart. SO, I took the engine out, took the flywheel off and there it was.. a sheared key. I also noticed someone had taken the bottom part of the crankcase off and I assume they did a ring job on it. I put in a new key, put the engine back in a it fired right up, and sounded great. I only ran it for a few seconds and then I hooked water to the head so I could run it longer. After hooking the water up, the engine would not turn over..BAD. so I took the plugs out and water was coming out of the front spark plug hole REAL BAD!! I unhooked the water, cranked it over and got all of the water out and it started right up again, then I hooked the water up again. (whileit was running) It ran fine but when I shut it off, and took the plug out, in about 20 seconds here comes the water again. Now I have the head off and I assume this is a head gasket problem. I think if someone did a ring job on this engine, then they never put on a new head gasket, or maybe put it on upside down. (They had used red silicone on the crankcase bottom and flywheel cover). I hope I do not have any more problems!! Any particular head gasket to use? I think there are a few diff