General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Stalling when downshifting-only happens in first 5 min

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2011, 06:25 PM
Default Stalling when downshifting-only happens in first 5 min

I just bought my first bike, an 06 Ninja 250. My bike stalls when I downshift from 2nd to 1st, but only in the first 5-10 minutes of start-up. I have to have the choke on during this 5-10 minutes too or the bike stalls. If I don't have the choke engaged and try to roll on the throttle, the bike stalls. Once the engine warms up it stops stalling. The RPMs are too low when I start it I think. Have any of you had this problem? The carburetor was just cleaned, so it shouldn't be a problem with that. They cleaned the fuel passages and jetting and installed new spark plugs too.

I know questions on this have been answered before, but I just wanted to ask because I'm a college student and don't have much money to spend and I'm trying to pinpoint the problem. I also have zero knowledge about how motorcycles work, so I doubt I could fix anything myself.

Last edited by jrt336; 09-28-2011 at 06:48 PM.
Old 09-28-2011, 08:07 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the forums, jrt. Some carbureted Kaw's (including mine) need to warm up before things work properly. (And, honestly, it's not a bad thing to warm the engine just a bit before you get going.) I'm guessing the gearbox may "clunk" a bit during the first 5-10 minutes as well? Your bike is probably fine, mechanically. Get used to needing an extra 5 minutes to get going. I've been doing this for years.
Glad to have you with us. Gear up; stay safe.

Old 09-28-2011, 09:23 PM

Now that I think about it the gearbox does seem a bit clunky for around 10 minutes. I've ridden a few different bikes before and I could ride those right away, so I just assumed something could be wrong. Thanks.

Old 09-29-2011, 04:02 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member