General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2009 KLX-250S, engine stalled when opened throttle from idle

Old 07-09-2018, 12:20 AM
1st Gear Member
Default 2009 KLX-250S, engine stalled when opened throttle from idle

My 2009 KLX-250S engine stalled when open the throttle from idle.
So it was diagnosed that I need to take apart the Carburetor...
This is my first time ever disassemble it.
As I remove the most of stuff, I found I have no access to the mixture pilot sacrew, it was blocked.
So I did not clean it.

Big mistake! because after I cleaned the rest put it back. it still behaved the same - running in idle ok, but after opened the throttle, engine stalled...

So I found and looked at service manual from the web:
https://djebel-club.ru/_ld/0/Kawasak...08_2009%20.pdf

It seems I need to punch a hole on "plug" that blocked the access to mixture/pilot screw?!
I guess it is because this carb has never been opened?! I am the original owner anyway.

For cleaning, I only dipped the carb in cleaning fluid in the ultra sonic cleaner.
Not sure what is the best way to clean the carb?

Thanks,
Karl

Old 07-09-2018, 11:13 AM
1st Gear Member

Yes you need to either punch or carefully drill (very little effort, it is soft metal and thin) to get a hole in it to pry it out. For some reason I'm thinking I've read where people have run a small screw in it to pull it out. Not a tough job.

Having worked in a dealership and seen what goes on, if you can, have the carb cleaned in a washer or ultrasonic cleaner. They can work the solvent and vibrate it around in places that cannot be reached. It is really tough to get into the smallest passages with spray or even small wires (which can ruin jets).