Gear Section Have some questions about the best safety gear for you? Ask it here!

jackets!

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2005, 04:19 AM
Default jackets!

hey guys im new to rideing and all. i need to get a jacket helmet gloves and so on. what is the best apparel to buy? what links are there?

Old 04-18-2005, 04:38 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: jackets!

You'll get a lot of people telling you to buy leather....

I don't know too much about what is the best gear to buy but, I just bought a Shark helmet - it was the only one that fit my head right. I like the HJC helmets but couldn't get the right size ordered in before my safety course. I bought Icon leather gloves because I liked the way they looked and fit. For a jacket I'm getting a Rhyno Dragon (if it fits right). So I would say, just go out take a look around, try stuff on and buy what you want to buy. But always keep in mind, protection first, then looks. Good luck!

Old 04-18-2005, 10:20 PM

My husband bought me a Gericke jacket and gloves. I am very pleased with the way they feel. I rode in some pretty low temperatures recently and felt NO WIND WHATSOVERER! I was as toasty as could be. Very comfortable gear in my opinion. I also have a Joe Rocket jacket (women's ) that is no where near as warm. I would have froze my &^(**&^ off in the same temps with the Rocket jacket. Both have removable liners, so I guess it's just the material. I personally love leather, but it's just too hot. The textile is more breathable. IMO

Old 04-19-2005, 01:51 AM
1st Gear Member

Gear selection can be a frustrating process. I have 3 different jackets that I wear different times of the year. Living in Florida, riding season is year round.

Not knowing what the weather is where you live, I will just give an overall opionion.

Warm springtime to damn hot summer riding: