1986 kawasaki eliminator ZL600

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2012, 06:54 PM
Exclamation 1986 kawasaki eliminator ZL600

hello, i have a 1986 kawasaki eliminator zl600. when i bought this bike off cragslist it ran perfectly, but ive ran into alot of problems lately and the most recent one is that one of the pistons seems to be pre igniting in the cylinder causing piston slap and a loss of power, i was wondering if anyone knew of any newer enging (90s up) that i could buy that would fit the eliminator? because i am a full time student i dont have the time to rebuild the current engine in the bike, this is my only ride to school and work as of right now. please reply if you know what would fit.

Old 09-07-2012, 03:43 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

Sometimes taking your new ride to a mechanic can save you some headaches and what if's.
Welcome to KF

Old 09-08-2012, 01:29 PM
1st Gear Member

What makes you think it's piston slap. That is extremely rare to actually hear it. Either get a mechanic's stethoscope ($4 at Harbor Freight stores or $10 on ebay) or a long handle screw driver (handle end against ear). Put the tip against various areas of the engine to locate your noise. You can easily find which valves might be loose or if the noise is coming from another source.