650R good for me?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2008, 08:02 PM
Default 650R good for me?

Hi everybody, I'm new to the forum. Lately i've been looking into bikes. I've always liked and respected them. I'm 17 years old and looking into my first bike. I'm a beginner with no experience driving a streetbike. I'm familiar with dirtbikes, and I daily drive a stick shift car. Once its timeI will go and take the msf course.Yesterday I went toa kawasaki dealer here in town and went and looked atthe 650r. I fit pretty good on the bike. I'm almost flat-footedonit. I'm 5'6" and 135 lbs. I was looking into the 250r but looks like it's not good on the highway. I figured the 650r because it's a little more than the 500r and has great reveiws. Whichever bike I get I want to keep for a lot of years down the road, that' why i'm more interested in the 650r. Do yu guys think I would be ok with this bike? Sorry for the book I wrote . God bless.

Old 07-09-2008, 08:28 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: 650R good for me?

Buy it with the understanding that you need to remain in control of your impulses and don't overestimate your abilities. It's a rather fast bike to be your very first, but I also couldn't suggest a 250 if highway use is a big part of your riding plans. It also seems silly to buy a 500 when a 650 is so close in price, but just please never let it slip your mind that you're going to have a lot of power between your legs, and from what I read here and on other forums, it's not hard at all to let a 650 get away from you. Be careful with whatever you decide on.

P.S. I don't think a 650 is substantially taller than a 250 or 500, but it may be wider, which will make a difference in your ability to flat-foot it. Go sit on all 3 and decide what's most comfortable.

Old 07-09-2008, 09:04 PM
1st Gear Member

I bought a 650R as my first bike and I would say it's been a great starter. There's plenty of power but you've got to twist