my 500 chocking....

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 07:42 AM
1st Gear Member
Default my 500 chocking....

today on a ride, my 500 started chocking (like it wasn't getting gas)..... i pulled over, openeed the gas tank - saw gas still there, started no problem and went on my way..... about 5 maybe 10 minutes later same thing.... so figured I go to the gas station to fill up just in case... I was able to put only 3.082 Gallons of gas in there before it hit the neck!!! WTF!!! don't these hold 4.8 gallons as per the spec sheet??? should there be a light that says you're low on fuel on the California models??? (from the manual)

anyways, I only had a little over a 100 miles on it when it happened!!! wierd, if it holds 4.8 gallons, and I put only 3.082, where is the rest (the reserve is less then 1/2 a gallon, doens't add up!!!!

any help or input??? i'm new to the riding thing so bare with me if I'm over-looking a simple thing!!!

[X(]

Old 10-08-2006, 08:12 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: my 500 chocking....

I think someone said the california models were 1 gal short. so its like 3 gallons and .8 in reserve? = 3.8? something like that.

that happened to me while I was on the freeway.

another weird thing I've noticed is, somtimes I'll pull off into the gas station and I get different mpg calculations. might be because I use different gas stations

Old 10-08-2006, 08:22 AM