mainentence question

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2008, 10:52 PM
Default mainentence question

I have a new '08 Ninja 500r. I currently have around 565 miles on it. I read and was told that I need to have it serviced at around 500 miles.

I called the dealership where I purchased it and asked them about it and was told they would do a bunch of checks on just about everything, change the oil, and adjust the valve clearance or something like that. They told me it would take about 3-4 hours and cost me $250-$270, and that the service is not covered under warranty.

I am very new to motorcycles and know very little. Is this service neccesary and if so why is it so expensive and not covered? I am now afraid to ride my bike fearing I may damage it.

I would like to learn to change my own oil sometime but messing with valves and such I would rather have it done professionally..

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Old 07-05-2008, 03:20 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: mainentence question

The "first service" is standard with any motorcycle at around 600 miles. I suspect that the price is so high because people are afraid not to get it done.Minecost less than half what you were quoted, soif I were you I would call around for prices and ask some local riders which shops do the best work. Good luck.

Old 07-05-2008, 06:02 AM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default RE: mainentence question

The next time you buy a new bike from a dealership, and the salesman is so horny to get you to sign on the dotted line, make sure to mention that you'd like the first service thrown in.