how do u check and remove oil?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2006, 12:36 AM
Default how do u check and remove oil?

how would i go about checking the oil level? i know where the big black **** on the right side is but i dont know how to go from there. also what oil would i want to use and how would i drain it? i hate asking dumb questions but im new to bikes. cars are one thing bikes are another. also will the DID PRO O-RING SERIES 520V X 104 be a good chain? thanks guys. -john

-edit
also forgot to ask what kinda oil filter is best

Old 04-28-2006, 01:28 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: how do u check and remove oil?

Welcome bullet,

Oil is easy. On the side of your engine there should be a clear sight glass. In the middle is where you want to see the oil level. Make sure your bike is level and not leaning on the side stand when checking.

Replacing oil, remove your lower fairing and you will be able to find the drain plug. You should warm up your bike for a few minuets and then drain the oil. In front below or behind the radiator you should locate your oil filter. Remove and replace with approved oil filter.

Your owners manual should have all this info and the amount of oil needed to refill with new filter and with out. If you no longer have the manual fill with 3 quarts and then check the sight glass. Keep filling until you see the oil appear in the glass up about ½ . Then run the bike for a few minutes to fill the filter and distribute the oil. Turn off the bike and let sit for a few minutes and recheck sight glass. Fill as needed to get the level to the ½ point of the sight glass.

A rear stand is nice for this work but not necessary. Just make sure when checking the sight glass you hold the bike up right.

Better to service your own ride then pay the stealership. Good job bro.

As far as the chain goes I like the DID chains but need to know what bike you have.

Old 04-28-2006, 01:43 AM