Highway speed freakouts........

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2007, 07:18 AM
Default Highway speed freakouts........

Hi there!
I'm new to riding. I've been on my '02 EX500 for about 4 months now.
I've done lots of parking lot practice. Riding around town on residential,
city and arterial kinds of streets. I'm cool with that. I still have a lot to learn
but I can ride with caution and not fear.
When I get on the highway and get up to about 55 I just freak out.[:@][:@][:@]
The bike doesn't feel stable, the wind blows me around and I feel like
I'm gonna fall off. (or more likely, I *think* that I'm gonna fall off)

From reading around on this forum I see folks riding these EX500's at highway
speeds and much more with no problems. Has anyone else had this problem?
Could it actually be a stability problem with the bike?

At first I was gripping the bars in a death-grip and now I've stopped myself
from doing that but I'm still having problems. I'm really working on relaxing and
just letting the bike and centrifugal force do their jobs.
Any advice?
(therapy?)

Old 03-12-2007, 07:33 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Highway speed freakouts........

If you have a steel grated bridge or something that really depends on a comfy feeling, try that. That may weed out some questions for ya.
Welcome to the forums

Old 03-12-2007, 07:37 AM