Just picked up a 2022 KLX300SM! What Mods should I consider?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2022, 11:14 PM
Default Just picked up a 2022 KLX300SM! What Mods should I consider?

As it says in the header, I am new to the KLX300SM life, or supermoto in general. I am coming from an R3 so this is a very different riding style.

I was hoping folks could help me out with some mods and part suggestions for future fun.

Additionally, when purchasing parts for my bike, it seems like 2022 is sparse. Are the 2021 and 2022 that much different?

Excited to be here! Thanks for the help

Old 02-17-2022, 04:42 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the supermoto world.
They are in a whole different world from sportbikes.
The KLX being about 70 pounds lighter than an R3 can make it feel "toylike".. The upright riding position will make your KLX seem more like a mountainbike with a motor.
Typical SM mods are:

Intake
Exhaust
Tuner
Tail Tidy
Headlight
Blinkers
Rack

TST, Revzilla, Ebay, and Amazon are good places to start when you're looking for parts. And yo'll have LOTS of fun tricking it out!

I've owned a LOT of small bikes under 400cc in my life, and the KLX300SM is the BEST bike I've ever ridden.

Last edited by tooter; 02-17-2022 at 04:47 PM.
Old 07-04-2022, 06:27 PM

And this is where I am parked. Waiting and looking for motor info. Pistons, cams, etc.

Old 07-04-2022, 06:51 PM
1st Gear Member

Here are a few other low cost mods to add to the list...

Secondary Throttle Plate Delete.
Primary ECU Throttle Plate Control Spring Delete
PAIR valve Delete
Emissions Canister Delete

Old 07-04-2022, 11:44 PM

Already have the low down on those through multiple youtube videos. Cam, heads, pistons are no where to be found……YET.

Old 07-18-2022, 10:28 PM

Tooter, is there any tutorials or instructions for removing the secondary throttle plate?

Old 07-19-2022, 02:22 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by solace