What's best exhaust for man on "new baby" budget?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2011, 04:46 PM
1st Gear Member
Default What's best exhaust for man on "new baby" budget?

I'm new to the off road bike world. I'm upgrading the stock muffler on my 2006 KLX250s and am on a slim budget thanks to my beautiful new four month old daughter. I saw the FMF Powercore 4 is in the mid $200 range but read reviews that the sound is not much different than stock and performance increase was so-so. Can I get recommendations on a nominally priced muffler that will show me improvements in both power and sound. I am not racing, but want significant improvement over stock.
Thanks

Last edited by mtbjunkie09; 09-02-2011 at 05:50 PM.
Old 09-02-2011, 05:01 PM
1st Gear Member

I have the powercore4 and love it. It does sound way different than that stock piece of crap. Much louder but not too lound IMO. And I noticed a huge difference in performance. Granted I did do the jet kit then the air filter and then the slip on, but I would say the muffler was the most noticable upgrade so far. And it was good priced. I got it at gnarlyparts.ca on sale

Old 09-02-2011, 05:04 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

get the cheapest aftermarket muffler you can, anyone aftermarket will be better than stock.

Old 09-02-2011, 05:42 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by mtbjunkie09
but want significant improvement over stock.
Thanks
Your best bet is to get the big bore kit with klx300 needle & bigger pilot & main jets from the dealer. 'Significant' gains are not to be had by a pipe & jet kit alone, slight or partial gains maybe.

Ask anyone what the big bore does performance wise. Even with the stock pipe.

Just my opinion tho....flame away people....

Old 09-02-2011, 05:46 PM
1st Gear Member