What GPS do you use with your KLX?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 05:26 AM
1st Gear Member
Default What GPS do you use with your KLX?

Hi All, wanted to inquire about what GPS folks are using with their bikes? I've been doing a bunch of research and have so far narrowed my choices down to 2, both from Garmin:

Zumo 550 http://www.garmin.com/products/zumo

or the Nuvi 660 http://www.garmin.com/products/nuvi660

Does anyone have any experience with these units and can comment, good or bad? Can you offer insight into other units you're using, and why?

I'm new to the dual sport world, and the motorcycle world in general, first year owning my own bike, and I LOVE the KLX 250 so far, been a life-changing experience for me!

I'd like to use the GPS for:

- keeping track of offroad treks so that I can see places i've been, revisit them in the future, etc.
- use the GPS to find places of interest when travelling distance
- I like the bluetooth phone feature both of these offer, however I'm having a hard time finding a bluetooth headset and mic to go inside a full-face helmet/motocross helmet
- ideally can take it off the bike and use it in the car

That's what I'm hoping to do, any thoughts/opinions/insights you can contribute would be greatly appreciated, thanks so much in advance!

Dave

P.S. Oh yes, have been visiting board pretty much daily since May when I got my bike, just haven't had much useful to contribute, thanks a lot for an incredible amount of useful info from many forum members!!!

Old 01-03-2007, 06:13 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: What GPS do you use with your KLX?

GEEEZEEEE, lots of Daves in this Forum, I'm going to have to change my name!!! [sm=joke.gif]

Welcome Dave!