things you carry when you ride

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 01:09 AM
1st Gear Member
Default things you carry when you ride

I'm just starting to ride myklx I purchased a few weeks ago.The roads are alreadygetting a little boring so I'm looking forward to hitting up some trails. What are some things I should carry along with me in the backpack? I'm new to the dualsport scene so I definately wanted to get started on the right foot. I know you can't carry everything but I would like to be prepared as possible.

I normally carry a flashlight, zip ties, basic tools, some rope, a knife, tape, a spark plug,compass, and mycell phone.

I'm thinking of getting a msr fuel bottle as an emergency back up as well.

What do you guys normally carry along with you on a ride?

Old 07-08-2008, 01:19 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: things you carry when you ride

A pull-along or winch, very nice to have if you find yourself between two hills and stuck in a muddy creek (Wish I had mine with me at that time). Rope, flashlight, first aid kit, tools, andwater (plenty of). A good trail buddy, cellphone, extra tubes and tire irons are some the other extra things to have.

Old 07-08-2008, 01:21 AM
1st Gear Member

drop the flashlight and sparkplug. you almost never need either. i always have spoons and a spare tube. don't bother with those if you can't change a tire though. fix-a-flat will work as long as you haven't torn the vavle stem. by the way loosen that nutup some. water is the most important thing you can have out in the woods. if you don't have a camelback then go get one.have the correct off road riding gear too. you'llbreak more often than the bike without it. take a good digger an you'll see what i mean.

Old 07-08-2008, 01:44 AM
1st Gear Member

Atleast 1 extra pack of cigs
1 charged cell phone
Credit/debit card
Some cash
Lighter
AAA...and a tow shop that can get bikes ahead of time...