quick question: Seafoam Spray for a rough idle?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2018, 02:55 AM
1st Gear Member
Default quick question: Seafoam Spray for a rough idle?

It just idles a little rough but runs like a boss. It fluctuates a couple hundred rpm up and down in little bumps with no input from me. Only slightly hesitant to start, usually on the second bump with just a bit of choke. Doesn't stall once I'm out, I keep it at about 12-1500rpm cause I'm new at this and... rough idle. Oh, it's a Mikuni pumper carb, 351cc Bill Blue.

Previous owner said he rode often, and evidence shows that is true (lots of leaves, sticks and mud in odd places), but it obviously didn't get a lot of attention. Filter and airbox were filthy.

Napa site says Seafoam spray might be good for a rough idle, like this: " Sea Foam Spray is used by inserting the included application hose and patented “HOOK TOOL” into the air intake just in front of the throttle plates in the throttle body. Then start engine and let it warm up to operating temperature. Increase idle speed to 2,000 RPM and spray the contents of the container into the engine. Shut the engine off and allow it to “Hot Soak” for 15 minutes. After the Hot Soak period restart the engine and road test the vehicle aggressively until the exhaust is clean (road test normally takes 5 to 10 miles of driving). "

sound reasonable? Good place to start?

posting a picture of something completely unrelated, just for fun. Is that ok?

OFW Skate Park, Atl 2017

Old 03-20-2018, 03:27 AM
1st Gear Member

Sounds like you need to adj the air fuel low speed 't' screw on the bottom of the carb. Turn it in/out and center in the highest rpm range after warmed up.
Are you in the same elev as the original owner?
I definitely would do that before using any 'product'.

Old 03-20-2018, 05:05 AM
1st Gear Member