Proper presentations and questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2009, 02:36 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Proper presentations and questions

Hi guys,

* Warning, long post ahead.

I realised today that I've been visiting this forum for the past month and even asked a few questions without properly presenting myself as I should have done in the first place.

I'm a 35 years old guy from northern Quebec Canada (that's right, a frenchie). I work for a telephone company, travel a bit with my gf (once or twice a year) to southern countries and I am brand new to the biking world.

I used to own a Kawasaki KVF 700 (great four-wheeler) wich I sold this year due to a lack of use. I rode a motorcycle a few times when in my teens but never after that.

After reading a lot, I decided to buy a brand new KLX 250S because I think it corresponds to my "riding style". Have to admit that used bikes for sale are not too common in my area and my brother-in-law being a Kawi dealer kinda helped me decide.

Since I know what kind of riding I like (read mostly trails and "aggressive"), I already bought and received a Utah skidplate, Pro-Taper handles and Powermadd handguards. My bro-in-law's mechanic (a former moto-cross racer) told me to ride the bike stock for a while before making any mods to it. Kinda makes sense.

Here are my questions:

- I already ordered a 13t sprocket... Should I install it as soon as I can or wait for a while? (bare in mind that I'd much rather have better torque at low speed than a faster bike)
-How long should I wait before doing the free mods that are so often talked about in this section? (carb breather T-mod, drilled muffler etc)
- Say I have a few (2-3) hundred dollars left for power enhancement this year, what should I do/buy?

Thanks a lot for everything, I've visited multiple forums and this one is by far the best!

Marco

Old 08-05-2009, 03:12 AM
1st Gear Member