New KLX is filthy (Woohoo!)

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2007, 06:46 PM
1st Gear Member
Default New KLX is filthy (Woohoo!)

I'm falling in love with this bike! I'm finding it to be a really capable, easy to ride dirt bike. Since I haven't ridden a dirt bike since I sold my 1980 IT125 about 20 years ago (when I was 17), I find the friendly, forgiving nature of the KLX250 to be the perfect tool to re-introduce myself to dirt riding. I've been riding street bikes for about the last 4 years, 3 of those on a '05 Suzuki Vstrom 650. I had a lot of fun on the Vstrom, it's a great street bike, but I kept wanting to go off road with it, but whenever I did, it just made me nervous. It felt top heavy and there was so much body work to get damaged...yikes! I traded the Suzuki in for this KLX just about four days ago. Although it's been fairly chilly out, the weather has been dry this week, so I've been putting the KLX to good use.

On Friday afternoon after work, I went up into the Oregon coast range west of Eugene, put in about 20 miles of gravel logging roads. The roads were steep, and some of the gravel was fairly "chunky", making a bit of an extra challenge, but the weather was clear, and up on the ridge, I could see for many miles. The bike was so much fun, it felt stable in the rough conditions, I remembered to just let the bike move under me when things got gnarly, and reminding myself to get my butt off the seat, stay loose and not tense up. The bike is also really fun on tight twisty mountain roads that are in this area, so light and flickable compared to the 'Strom.

Up on the logging roads after work, a cool, sunny afternoon, no mud (yet):