New KLX 250 owner looking for better bottom end.

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2008, 05:19 AM
1st Gear Member
Default New KLX 250 owner looking for better bottom end.

...and I'm NOT talking about my wife!!! :^)

Hey guys n dolls. I'm brand new here so be gentle. My name is Nick and I live in North Carolina. We have about 2000 miles of trails in our back yard that are off limites to dirtbikes and four wheelers but a loophole in the regs allows LICENSED motorcycles. There are riders from all over that ride the roads through the Blue Ridge area. That's why I want to be off road. (no offense to the road rapers), I just prefer the (dirt) road less travelled.

I make my living selling "cutlery" so if you want to know about edgy things just axe. Bikes I've had off and on over the past XXX years. Ironiclly my first was a 1970 Kawasaki 125 2 stroke. Now with my new KLX 250 4 stroke I'm pretty much back where I started. BUT I WANT MORE POWER!!!!

I've got a question about getting better bottom end torque out of my KLX 250. Now b4 you jump my glutes and tell me to check past threads, I have. I'm still confussed. Once you get to know me you'll get used to it.

I've read about carb mods, airbox decapitation, exhast tweaks, smaller front sprockets, larger rear sprockets and even major engine mods. Now to be brutally honest I probably wouldn't need the extra torque nearly as much if I'd lose about 50 pounds but moding the bike is easier than moding my culinary and microbrew intake.

So........I don't really want to go into a great big expensive overhaul but there is SO much info here about moding that I'm confused (again) about where best to start.

I've already generously ventelated the airbox and I've "freed up" the exhaust a bit. No great improvement so far.

My next stab at it was going to be droping down a tooth on the front sprocket, then I read about jumping up 3 teeth on the rear. Which would be better??