Need new bars - lost it in a creek crossing

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2012, 12:57 AM
Default Need new bars - lost it in a creek crossing

I know this is an annoying newbie question especially for a first post so sorry in advance, but I've been doing a lot of research this afternoon and I cant figure out what type of replacement bars to get for my 2012 KLX250S. I'm a new rider, only about 500 miles and I lost traction big time on a concrete river crossing that was covered in very slippery algae slime. The bike swapped ends on me and I was laying in the slimy stagnant water before I knew what happened. The 25 mile ride home through the twisties with bent bars was awesome . The bike was undamaged except for the bars and the clutch leaver.

Anyway I'm 5'11", mostly torso with shortish arms and legs. The stock bars and riding position felt pretty good to me but I had nothing to compare it to because I'm a noob. Does anyone have suggestions for higher quality bars that have a pretty much stock feel, and not something that will break the bank?

This simulator from zeta seems helpful. ZETA HANDLE BEND SIMULATOR

Old 06-25-2012, 01:23 AM
1st Gear Member

pro taper kx highs are what i'm running don't have to bend to stand and ride imho taller the better and when you get new bars get their throttle tube it feels amazing

Old 06-25-2012, 01:29 AM
1st Gear Member

I changed to the Pro Taper CR High Bend, someone on ADVRider(maybe a member here too?) in the long term klx250 review post mentioned they were able to use them with stock length cables. I put the bar on so I could add Barkbusters to save my levers, which they did multiple times yesterday!