My First Bike

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2013, 06:24 PM
1st Gear Member
Talking My First Bike

Hey guys, got my first bike last week. It's a 2012 klx250s, Kawi green and had 2 miles on it when I picked it up. I got some good information off this forum as a lurker and decided it's worth signing up and being part of the crowd! I'm not new to machines and tuning, I'm a mechanic and love cars but I'm a total newbie to bikes.

I'm thinking my first mods will be to re jet the bike, I may delete some of the emission crap we have for California, a skid plate, hand guards and a tank bag. I know these bikes have starting problems but mine has been fine so far.

Old 06-17-2013, 06:28 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the forum and enjoy your new bike.

Old 06-17-2013, 08:16 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome NorCal,

Some, but certainly not all, have starting problems. Easy fixes if it does. Looks like you have a good start to mods. Hope you add some safety gear in there too. Ride safe!

Old 06-17-2013, 11:36 PM
1st Gear Member

So I've been doing my research and I'm not sure what I want to do for performance. I know I'm going to re jet it for sure but I remember seeing things about an air box mod? Can someone explain what that requires or give me a link? I took the seat off and that air box rubber elbow deal looks pretty lame. I assume its enlarging that or getting a bigger one??? Also, since I'm rejetting, I'm thinking of getting a FMF Q4 with quiet insert. Does anyone have an idea how loud it is? Youtube is only so good for exhaust sounds.

I'm thinking air box mod, re jet and exhaust will be my max engine mods for now. Then I'll stick to riding stuff like a tank bag and perhaps a removable wind screen. I'll post up pics as my bike progresses. Can't wait! Also I did get some riding gear to be safe, good looking out!

Old 06-17-2013, 11:46 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by NorCalKLX