Motocross helmets vs. "standard" helmet

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008, 05:17 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Motocross helmets vs. "standard" helmet

I bought a white scorpion exo-400 helmet a few months ago, before I got my bike. It's a nice looking helmet, comfortable, vented, removable and washable pads, all for a good price.

Now I feel somewhat out of place riding around on a KLX250 with this "street" helmet and a blue Tourmaster intake 2 jacket. Is it stupid to be riding trails with a mesh, cf armor padded "street" style jacket, and street helmet with no visor? As far as functionality goes, the Scorpion helmet is doing great, and so is the jacket.

I do a lot of street riding to and from trails, so I don't imagine a motocross style helmet would do so well at 70mph. Besides shade protection, why are motocross helmets the way they are? What's the advantage? Do I look like a total noob or what? I know I'm having a blast riding the highway to the trails, on the trails, and on the way home too.

Old 08-05-2008, 05:30 PM
1st Gear Member

nah its all about what you like mang,,, im lookin at some joe rocket jackets myself,, but then agian I thought about chest protector as well.. Its pretty much what you wanna where.. Its not how you look,,, its how you protect yourself and thats all that matters

Old 08-05-2008, 05:46 PM
1st Gear Member

Amigo you have answered your own question.

Old 08-05-2008, 06:03 PM
1st Gear Member

I have both helmets. When Im up at my cottage I wear the MX and at home on the streets the Joe Rocket street helmet. The only advantage to the MX helmet to me is the air flow. But for protection it's not enough for me. I too wear a jacket, its a full leather jacket and my friends think im crazy wearing it when its 90 out but i look at it like this: If i fall at 45 and dont get hit by a car and live, i will at least have some skin on my upper body. Just my 2 cents

-Nick

Old 08-05-2008, 06:09 PM
1st Gear Member

+1 masson