Max weight on rear rack?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2011, 04:31 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Max weight on rear rack?

I'm curious to what racks you guys are using and the maximum load you've put on it. I've been reading about how the sub frame had cracked for some, but does this apply to the 09 models as well?

Seems to me that the Cycleracks rack is the most popular. In fact, I emailed them asking if a 50-60lbs load would be OK on the rack in which they said would be fine. I was curious if anyone had any first hand experience with the rack, or any other rack for that matter with a heavy load?

Old 06-07-2011, 12:38 PM
1st Gear Member

I think the rack I have is the Nomad rack. I have had a case of bottled beer on it several times without issue. Have not had the need to test it more than that.

Old 06-07-2011, 02:27 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

I'm no engineer, but I find it hard to believe that the extreme end of the rear subframe of any year KLX is going to hold up to 50-60 pound loads. And if by some stretch of the imagination it could, I'd bet you wouldn't even be able to go down a dirt road with any additional vibration for very long.

Here's another issue...how does having 1/6 of what the motorcycle weighs sitting back on a rear rack affect handling? I see people comparing having a passenger to carrying gear on the rack. That just isn't a valid comparison. The passenger is much more positioned onto the triangulated part of the frame along with the support of the passenger footpegs. Stuff on the rack is pretty much outside the triangulation. People who take care to push as much of the weight forward to the seat area and/or use bag systems within the triangulation portion of the frame can get away with more.