Looking for tools - for at home and the road

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 02:09 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Looking for tools - for at home and the road

I've managed to strip the socket on my crappy walmart socket set.

I'd like to pick up a metric tool set that would take care of most repairs. I don't plan on taking the motor or transmission apart, but I find myself struggling with the crappy Walmart tool set.

I know there is a torque range chart for our bike. Is there a bolt/but size chart? I'd want to make sure I get a kit that covers all sizes.

I'm also curious about replacing the mini tool set that came with the bike. I'd want to place it on the front fender and leave room in the back for luggage. I'm entertaining the idea of a long trip, and I'd want to be able to do repairs on the road. I'm a total bike newbie so I have no idea what I'd need.

EDIT: http://www.trailtoolz.com/products.html
They seem decent?

http://dirt-bike-gear.com/tool_recommendations.html
A good resource for others looking for on the road tools.

Last edited by je2000; 10-07-2008 at 02:43 AM.
Old 10-07-2008, 03:23 AM
1st Gear Member

I think you would have a hard time finding a sparkplug tool to replace the cheesy kawi one. you could replace the wrenches etc with others but they would probably be heavier. Tire spoons would be a good addition.
As far as a socket set goes, Craftsman makes nice tool sets for a reasonable price. You can ALWAYS find tools at pawn shops, for really cheap because they are so common.

Old 10-07-2008, 03:33 AM
1st Gear Member

Check Motion Pro they have some good tools for the tool pack

Old 10-07-2008, 03:55 PM
1st Gear Member