KlX250SF Wont Start After Carb Clean

Old 08-08-2017, 01:26 AM
Default KlX250SF Wont Start After Carb Clean

Hello,

I recently purchased a klx250sf as my first bike. After putting a hundred miles on it I figured I would clean the carb not knowing what condition it was in from the PO. I took it out and it was clean as a whistle, after putting everything back I can not get the bike started.

What I know right now:
The bike is getting spark.
There is gas getting to the carb.
Gas will drain when drain screw is opened.

I am new to doing any kind of mechanical work, but it seems as though the cylinder isn't getting gas. I am not sure if it is not pulling gas due to some air leak? I checked all the connections and everything is tight and the carb is seated firmly in the rubber boots. I am not sure what to check or do next.

Thank you for any suggestions.

Old 08-08-2017, 10:45 AM
1st Gear Member

Check the slide. Might be stuck down. Did you remove the top of carb too.

Also check for air obstructions ( like stuffing a paper towel in the intake and forgetting about it). That will do it. Ask me how I know....

Last edited by s10gto; 08-08-2017 at 10:48 AM.
Old 08-09-2017, 03:45 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by s10gto
Check the slide. Might be stuck down. Did you remove the top of carb too.

Also check for air obstructions ( like stuffing a paper towel in the intake and forgetting about it). That will do it. Ask me how I know....
Paper towel in the intake?...What an idiot! Everyone knows you should be using a white athletic sock. You don't have to ask me...I know.