KLX250s Surging at WOT

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 01:36 AM
1st Gear Member
Question KLX250s Surging at WOT

Hello everyone---------I purchased a 06 KLX250S yesterday======I bought it from a local dealer who wouldnt let me ride it out of the parking lot=====cause I only have a learners permit (endorsement)==he said it was due to insurance====anyways===today I rode it for the first time and I notice that at wide open throttle===the bike surges pretty bad-----I have no idea where to start=====the airbox lid is missing and thats the only mod I can see done to this bike------I can tell the carb HAS been off before because I had to loosen the clamp and push the carb on the rest of the way===which made no difference with the WOT surge=====do I have old fuel? are the valves out of adjustment(bike has 9000 miles) though I dont hear any valve noise AT ALL when its idling=====is it simply a dirty carb? anyone experience this before? and where do I start? I am a complete NOOB to the KLX===I am a professional auto mechanic===so I can do anything that needs to be done=====I really think the jetting has been messed with====but why would someone mess with jetting and leave the exhaust stock=====last question===what size spark plug socket do I need====5/8" automotive===or is it a smaller size one like my GSXR

Old 05-04-2009, 01:43 AM
1st Gear Member
Default more info

the bike runs smooth and great===under 3/4 throttle
idles fines===you have to use choke when its cold-----I've put 8 miles on the bike so far----------did I even get the bike warm enough?---I rode up and down my side street about ten times===also what is the redline of these bikes====I've read 8500rpm but not sure if they were refering to a KLX250s or not=====thanks for the help guys

Old 05-04-2009, 02:12 AM
1st Gear Member