Is it help a newbie day? (newbie here)

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2007, 06:31 AM
Default Is it help a newbie day? (newbie here)

I "almost" bought a used TTR 225 last week...and I'm glad I didn't! I happened to stumble into the local dealership and I think I found my perfect bike. The KLX 250S seemed to fit my 6'-155# 47 year old body quite well, and I could just barely sit flat footed on it. I don't exactly "have" to have a street legal machine, but I do see this as a plus in some ways. I'm still teetering back and forth between this and the 300R...but there's a semi-local dealer that is advertizing a new 2006 250S for $3995 "with" the purchase of the 1 year extended warranty (anybody have a clue how much that is?).
My second question is this...my local dealer had a 2007 model that he "said" was a newly designed model....how does it differ from the 2006? The 07 seemed like it would be much more at home offroad than the TTR I almost bought, and I think that a correctly modified 250S would be all the power I'll ever need offroad. I have ridden a friend's 300R...and it had plenty of power, but maybe more than I need?
I live in the mountains of WNC, so pulling hills is a must, but I have no desire to put 8' of air below me. I'm a skinny feller, so weight is a factor.
I ride a couple of Harleys on the street, and do all of my own mods, so the pipe/airbox/rejetting thing isn't a problem.
Any friendly advice would be greatly appreciated!

Snal~

Old 03-03-2007, 06:37 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Is it help a newbie day? (newbie here)

ORIGINAL: Snal

My second question is this...my local dealer had a 2007 model that he "said" was a newly designed model....how does it differ from the 2006?
Bold new graphics & a white headlight.

Old 03-03-2007, 03:13 PM
1st Gear Member

Snal,